Mulga Bill Writing award | Goldfields Library Corporation

Mulga Bill Writing Award  Mulga Bill Writing Award logo. Pennyfarthing illustration

Goldfields Libraries and Eaglehawk Festivals Inc. are calling for entries from writers all over Australia for the annual Mulga Bill Writing Award. 

Writers are encouraged to take inspiration from the theme 'mystical waters', and submit a poem (max. 25 lines) or short story (max. 2000 words).

Writers of all ages and skill levels are encouraged to apply. Entry fee is $5.

Entries close Friday 23 February, 2024.

  • Short story: $500 first prize, $150 second prize
  • Poetry: $200 first prize, $50 second prize

Winners will be announced at at the Eaglehawk Dahlia and Arts Festival in March 2024. 

Download an entry form.

Submit your enrty


Anne Gleeson: Anne is a poet and funeral celebrant who works in central Victoria and lives in Kyneton. She has published three collections of poetry, with a fourth manuscript in its final stages. She has won multiple awards, both in Australia and overseas. Read more about Anne here:

Leslie Baker: An avid bibliophile, and librarian for over 20 years. Having worked in a variety of libraries from school to corporate, it's the connection to community which has lured her back to public libraries, time and time again. With a degree in literature and a masters in librarianship, Leslie has a passion for all things written and is looking forward to being involved in this year's Mulga Bill Writing Award.

Read the 2023 winning entries here.

Read the 2022 winning entries here. 

With thanks to:

Eaglehawk Festivals Inc.