Child Safe Standards | Goldfields Library Corporation

Child Safe StandardsChild Safe Standards

In October 2017, the Goldfields Library Corporation commenced the implementation of the seven standards required to become a Child Safe Organisation.

On 13 November 2013, the Victorian Parliament tabled the report of its Inquiry into the Handling of Child Abuse by Religious and Other Non-Government Organisations (the Betrayal of Trust Inquiry).

The report provided 15 recommendations, including the introduction of minimum standards for ensuring child-safe organisations.

It recognised that all organisations working with children must take steps to prevent abuse. They cannot assume that child abuse does not, and cannot, happen within their organisation. The report highlighted poor and inconsistent practices for keeping children safe. It found some organisations’ cultures did not focus on children’s safety and many failed to report or act on child abuse allegations.

The standards are designed to drive cultural change in organisations, so that protecting children from abuse is embedded in the everyday thinking and practice of leaders, staff and volunteers.

This will assist organisations to:

  • Promote the safety of children
  • Prevent child abuse
  • Ensure effective processes are in place to respond to and report allegations of child abuse.

The seven standards are:

  • Standard 1: Governance and leadership
  • Standard 2: Clear commitment to child safety
  • Standard 3: Code of conduct
  • Standard 4: Human resource practices
  • Standard 5: Responding and reporting
  • Standard 6: Risk management and mitigation
  • Standard 7: Empowering children.

The Commission for Children and Young People (CCYP) is the oversight body for the standards, for more information see the
Commission's website.